Joy Rust, wife of former SCBC exec, passes away

Joy Lucille Rust, wife of former South Carolina Baptist Convention executive director-treasurer Ray Rust, died Aug. 9 in Richardson, Texas. She was born June 20, 1926, in New Orleans, La. A funeral service will be held at 11 a.m. on Aug. 13 at First Baptist Church in Plano, Texas. Survivors, in addition to her husband, […]

Anderson University a treasure house of learning in our own backyard

Writer: Alexander Campbell, Special to the Anderson Independent-Mail This is a tale of two universities. Both were founded as distinctly evangelical Christian institutions, one in 1636 the other in 1911. The motto of one was “Veritas Christo et Ecclesiae,” or “Truth for Christ and the Church.” The motto of the other is “Humanitatem per crucem […]

From Deep Darkness to Great Forgiveness

He gives people cowbells and tells them about Jesus. His name is Rob Young, and his story is a compelling drama of God’s faithfulness and forgiveness. Young was a custom homebuilder in his early 30s — successful, connected, and financially strong. “I lived what most people would consider an ideal life: a beautiful wife, a […]

Charleston Southern dedicates Hunter Reception Center

June 11 was set aside to recognize Jairy C. Hunter Jr., president of Charleston Southern University, and his wife, Carolyn K. “Sissy” Hunter, for their 30 years of service to the Baptist-affiliated school. The day also included the dedication of the Jairy C. & Carolyn K. Hunter Center. To commemorate the occasion, Sen. Tim Scott’s […]

Anderson University launches divinity school

Anderson University has renamed its ministry graduate school the Clamp Divinity School. The name change coincides with the launch of a master of divinity degree at the South Carolina Baptist-affiliated school. The master of divinity is the standard theological degree offered by most seminaries and divinity schools. Anderson will begin offering the M.Div. degree this […]

‘The child comes first’ for newly elected Connie Maxwell president

The president-elect of Connie Maxwell Children’s Home says he will do everything in his power to be “an advocate for the fatherless.” Randy Harling, pastor of Simpsonville First Baptist Church, will become the next president of Connie Maxwell Children’s Home in September. He told his congregation May 18. He will succeed Ben Davis, who will […]

Connie Maxwell president Ben Davis awarded two proclamations

Ben Davis, president of Connie Maxwell Children’s Home, was awarded two proclamations from the Greenwood delegation at the South Carolina Statehouse — one from the House of Representatives and one from the Senate — to commend him for his service at Connie Maxwell. Davis will retire in August. Pictured, from left: Rep. Shannon Riley, Rep. […]

Aquatic rehab facility to aid Bethea residents

Bethea Baptist Retirement Community, one of two retirement facilities operated by South Carolina Baptist Ministries for the Aging, has begun construction on an aquatic rehabilitation facility. The building will house an indoor heated pool, therapeutic spa and a sauna, and will benefit residents who struggle with orthopedic conditions, pain, stroke, arthritis, obesity and other medical […]

NGU students embark on global missions this summer

Mission teams from North Greenville University will serve in more than 22 countries and seven states this summer. The school has 10 teams heading to Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, New York, Nicaragua, North Africa/Middle East, South Asia, Uganda and West Virginia. Other students will be serving in different parts of the world in a […]